Blueberry Mojitos

Cool and refreshing, these mojitos have the perfect hint of blueberries that turn this classic drink into a delicious seasonal beverage.

photo 3 (29)

This week is going to be a blueberry week!  I made these delicious beverages last weekend to use up some of the blueberries I had on hand and I’ve got a blueberry dessert coming at ya at the end of this week!

Since my parents have three very healthy blueberry bushes, they are loaded with the delicious berries.  They have given us several bags of blueberries so far this summer and I may have to start freezing them so that we can have a delicious blueberry treat in the fall/winter.

photo 2 (36)

Last weekend, I got inspired to make this blueberry mojito from the novice chef! I was browsing the internet for some blueberry inspiration and saw her recipe.  A blueberry mojio!?  Where do I sign??

I tried this beverage a couple of different ways.  I first tried to puree the blueberries in my food processor but the berry puree ended up having too many large chunks of blueberries that I ended up eating my mojito instead of drinking it.

photo 2 (34)

The second time go round, I tried making a simple syrup and this was a much better option in my opinion!  I first boiled 1 cup of blueberries with 1 cup of sugar in 1 cup of water.  I let them simmer for about 15 minutes, strained the syrup through a strainer and then let the syrup cool in the refrigerator.

This simple syrup option really infused my mojito with the blueberry flavor I was looking for–as well as giving it a lovely purpley-pink color! They are as refreshing as a regular mojito, but with the added flavor of blueberry, they have a more summer time feel to them!

photo 2 (35)

This is a printable recipe!

Prep Time: about 20 minutes–if you are making the simple syrup
Total Time: about 2 hours–if you include cooling time for the simple syrup
Yields: enough for 1 beverage
Ingredients:
Simple Syrup:
  • 1 cup of fresh blueberries
  • 1 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1 cup of water
Blueberry Mojitos:
  • 2 tablespoons of blueberry simple syrup
  • 4 fresh mint leaves
  • juice from 1 lime
  • 4 oz of white rum
  • 6 oz of club soda–or your favorite lemon lime soda
  • ice
Directions:
For the Simple Syrup:
Combine the blueberries, sugar and water in a medium sauce pan over medium high heat.  Bring the water to a boil.  Reduce the heat and simmer for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Using a strainer, pour the syrup through the strainer into a mason jar or other jar with an air tight seal.  Store in the refrigerator for about 2 hours or until the syrup has cooled.
For the mojitos:
Combine the simple syrup, mint leaves and lime juice in a cocktail shaker.  Muddle the ingredients together using a cocktail muddler or the back of a spoon.  Add ice and rum.  Shake your cocktail shaker until everything is combined.
Fill a high ball glass with ice and pour your cocktail mixture into your glass.  Fill the rest of you high ball glass with club soda or your favorite lemon lime soda.
Garnish with extra blueberries, lime wedges or mint.

EnJOY!

 

Leave a Reply

